skip to page content | skip to main navigation
summary
 SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXTONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help   Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR

Information Center
How Do I Find?
Subject Specialist Directory
Humanities and Area Studies
Science and Engineering
Social Sciences
Research Subjects A-Z
Reference Shelf

Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly     
RESEARCH HELP

Subject Specialist Directory-Detailed List of All Subject Areas

Subject Specialists are available for advanced research consultation. Your first stop for research should be the Information Center. You can also contact the Information Center via email, IM/Chat or by phone.

You can also see a condensed list of subject specialists by subject. (Download PDF version.)

The following list of subject specialists is arranged alphabetically by subject area. To find out more about each of these subject areas, search the Research Subjects A-Z pages. These pages are listed by subject and by type of collection. They include substantial information on how to research the Stanford Libraries' collections, what you can expect to find in the collections, and links to online resources.

For a list of all Stanford University Libraries and Academic Information Resources (SULAIR) staff, see:

Staff Directory - By Name


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U W


A
Aeronautics and Astronautics
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
African Studies
Karen Fung (Sub-Saharan Africa), kfung@stanford.edu, 650-725-3505
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
For North Africa see Middle Eastern Studies
African- American Studies
Historical Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Political and Economic Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
America
See United States
American Studies:
Cultural Aspects
Annette Keogh, akeogh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1053
Government Information
James Jacobs (Federal Documents), jrjacobs@stanford.edu, 650-862-9871
Kris Kasianovitz, (State and Local Documents), krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
Historical Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Language and Literature
Annette Keogh, akeogh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1053
Political and Economic Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Herbert S. Klein (Hoover Institution - North American Collections), hklein@stanford.edu, 650-723-9559
Ancient History--Western
John Mustain, jmustain@stanford.edu, 650-725-6964
Anthropology and Archaeology
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Antiquarian Books and Manuscripts
See Special Collections
Applied Physics
Stella Ota, stella.ota@stanford.edu, 650-723-9763
Arabic Studies
John A. Eilts (Green Library Collections), john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Archaeology
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Art, Architecture, and Design
Peter Blank, ppb@stanford.edu, 650-725-1038
Anna Fishaut, afishaut@stanford.edu, 650-725-1037
Katie Keller, kkeller@stanford.edu, 650-723-3408
Asian Studies
See:
Central Asian Studies,
East Asian Studies,
Islamic Studies,
Middle East,
South Asian Studies,
Southeast Asian Studies
 
Asian-American Studies:
Historical Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Political and Economic Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Astronomy/Astrophysics
Stella Ota, stella.ota@stanford.edu, 650-723-9763

B

Biochemistry and Biophysics
Grace Baysinger, graceb@stanford.edu, 650-725-1039
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
See also the Lane Liaison Program
Bioengineering
Sarah Lester, slester@stanford.edu, 650-725-1018
Biology
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
Biotechnology
Grace Baysinger, graceb@stanford.edu, 650-725-1039
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
See also the Lane Liaison Program
British Studies:
Government Information
Kris Kasianovitz, krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
History
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Language and Literature
Annette Keogh, akeogh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1053
Political and Economic Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Business
 
Mihoko Hosoi, hosoi_mihoko@gsb.stanford.edu, 650-725-2004

C

Canadian Studies:
Government Information
Kris Kasianovitz, krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
History
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Language and Literature
Annette Keogh, akeogh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1053
Sarah Sussman (Francophone), ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481
Political and Economic Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Caribbean Studies:
English Speaking
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
French Speaking or Francophone
Sarah Sussman, ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481
Spanish Speaking
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
Central Asian Studies
Anatol Shmelev (Hoover Institution Collections), shmelev@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-724-6200
John A. Eilts (Green Library Collections), john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Karen Rondestvedt (Green Library Collections), rondest@stanford.edu, 650-725-1052
Chemical Engineering
Grace Baysinger, graceb@stanford.edu, 650-725-1039
Chemistry
Grace Baysinger, graceb@stanford.edu, 650-725-1039
Chicana/o Studies
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
Roberto Trujillo, trujillo@stanford.edu, 650-387-6816
China
See East Asian Studies
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Kathleen Gust, kgust@stanford.edu, 650-723-8877
Classics and Classical Archaeology
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu, 650-723-3101
Climate and Weather
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Communication and Journalism
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
Computer Science
Sarah Lester, slester@stanford.edu, 650-725-1018

D

Dance
Annette Keogh, akeogh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1053
Data, Social Science
See Social Science Data
Developmental Biology
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
Digital Humanities
Glen Worthey, gworthey@stanford.edu, 650-213-6759
Drama and Theater
Annette Keogh, akeogh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1053

E

Earth Sciences
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Earthquakes and Seismology
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
East Asian Studies (China, Japan, Korea)
Zhaohui Xue (East Asia-China), zhxue@stanford.edu, 650-725-3439
Regan Murphy Kao (East Asia-Japan), reganmk@stanford.edu, 650-725-3437
Kyungmi Chun (East Asia-Korea), kyungmic@stanford.edu, 650-724-5934
Qi Qiu (Western Language Materials on East Asia), qqiu@stanford.edu, 650-384-9872
East European Studies:
Maciej Siekierski (Hoover Institution Collections), siekierski@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-725-6955
Karen Rondestvedt (Green Library Collections), rondest@stanford.edu, 650-725-1052
Jewish Aspects
Zachary Baker, zachary.baker@stanford.edu, 650-725-1054
Economics
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Education
Kathy Kerns, kkerns@stanford.edu, 650-996-0592
Gerald Dorfman (Hoover Institution - Hanna Education Collection), dorfman@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-723-4427
Electrical Engineering
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
Energy Resources Engineering
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Engineering
(excluding Chemical Engineering)
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
 
Engineering-Economic Systems
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
English Studies
See British Studies
Environmental Studies:
Biological Aspects
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
Earth Systems
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Engineering Aspects
Kathleen Gust , kgust@stanford.edu, 650-723-8877
Government Information
James Jacobs, jrjacobs@stanford.edu, 650-862-9871
Kris Kasianovitz, krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
Political, and Historical Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Henry Lowood, lowood@stanford.edu, 650-723-4602
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu, 650-723-3101
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Ethnic Studies:
See also individual areas.
Chicano Studies
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
Historical Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Political and Economic Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
 
European Studies
See individual areas, i.e., French and Francophone Studies

F

Feminist Studies
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
See also Women's Studies
Film and Media Studies:
Henry Lowood, lowood@stanford.edu, 650-723-4602
Foreign Government Information
See specific area, i.e., French and Francophone Studies
French and Francophone Studies:
Sarah Sussman, ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481
Government Information
Sarah Sussman, ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481

G

Genetics
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
Geochemistry
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Geography:
Human
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Physical
Julie Sweetkind-Singer, sweetkind@stanford.edu, 650-725-1102
Geology
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Geophysics
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Geographic Information Systems(GIS)
Patricia Carbajales, carbajales@stanford.edu, 650-725-9179
Julie Sweetkind-Singer, sweetkind@stanford.edu, 650-725-1102
Germanic Studies:
Nathalie Auerbach, nathalie.auerbach@stanford.edu, 650-723-9411
Government Information
See specific area, i.e., United States or East Asian Studies

H

History of Science and Technology
Henry Lowood, lowood@stanford.edu, 650-723-4602
Hoover Institution Library and Archives:
Library
Paul Thomas, thomas@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-723-2054
Archives
Carol Leadenham, leadenham@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-725-3444
Human Geography
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Humanities Digital Information
Glen Worthey, gworthey@stanford.edu, 650-213-6759
Hydrogeology
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242

I

Iberian Studies (Spain and Portugal):
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
Industrial Engineering
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
International Organizations:
International Governmental Organizations (including European Union)
Kris Kasianovitz, krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
International Non-Governmental Organizations
Kris Kasianovitz, krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
International Relations and Politics
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Iranian Studies
John A. Eilts, john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Islamic Studies
John A. Eilts, john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Israel
See Jewish Studies
Italian Studies:
Sarah Sussman, ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481
Government Information
Sarah Sussman, ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481

J

Japan
See East Asian Studies
Jewish Studies
(Including Hebraica and Judaica)
Zachary M. Baker, zachary.baker@stanford.edu, 650-725-1054
Anna Levia, amlevia@stanford.edu, 650-736-1306
K

Korean Studies
Kyungmi Chun (East Asia Library-Korea), kyungmic@stanford.edu, 650-724-5934

L

Latin American Studies
Adán Griego, adan.griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
William Ratliff (Hoover Institution Collections), ratliff@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-723-2106
Law and Legal Studies
J. Paul Lomio, plomio@stanford.edu, 650-725-0804
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
LGBT Studies
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150
Library and Information Sciences
Sharon Propas, swp@stanford.edu, 650-725-1136
Linguistics
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu, 650-723-3101

M

Maps
Julie Sweetkind-Singer, sweetkind@stanford.edu, 650-725-1102
Jane Ingalls, jingalls@stanford.edu, 650-725-1103
Marine Biology
Joe Wible, wible@stanford.edu, (831) 655-6228
Management Science and Engineering
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
Materials Science Engineering
Kathleen Gust, kgust@stanford.edu, 650-723-8877
Mathematics
Linda Yamamoto, linday@stanford.edu, 650-723-0864
Mechanical Engineering and Design
Sarah Lester, slester@stanford.edu, 650-725-1018
Medicine and Medical Studies
Marilyn Tinsley, marilyn.tinsley@stanford.edu, 650-723-5969
Medieval Studies
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu, 650-723-3101
Middle Eastern Studies
John A. Eilts, john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Molecular Biology
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
Music
Jerry McBride, jerry.mcbride@stanford.edu, 650-725-1146
Mimi Tashiro, mtashiro@stanford.edu, 650-725-1144
Raymond Heigemeir, raymondh@stanford.edu, 650-725-1148

N

Native American Studies:
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Social and Anthropological Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Near Eastern Studies
See Middle Eastern Studies
Neurobiology
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
North Africa:
See also Middle Eastern Studies
John A. Eilts (Green Library Collections), john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Francophone literature, French colonies
Sarah Sussman, ssussman@stanford.edu, 650-723-9481

O

Oceanography:
Physical Oceanography
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Biological Oceanography
Joe Wible, wible@stanford.edu, (831) 655-6228
Operations Research
Helen Josephine, helenj@stanford.edu, 650-725-1012
Linda Yamamoto, linday@stanford.edu, 650-723-0864
Ore Deposits and Economic Geology
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242

P

Paleographical Materials
David A. Jordan, dajordan@stanford.edu, 650-723-3866
Paleontology and Stratigraphy
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Persian Studies
John A. Eilts, john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815
Petroleum Geology
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
Philosophy
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu, 650-723-3101
Physics
Stella Ota, stella.ota@stanford.edu, 650-723-9763
Political Science
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Polymer Chemistry
Grace Baysinger, graceb@stanford.edu, 650-725-1039
Population Studies:
Biological Aspects
Michael Newman, mnewman@stanford.edu, 650-723-1110
Historical Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Political and Economic Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Psychology
Kathy Kerns, kkerns@stanford.edu, 650-996-0592
Public Opinion
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Data Sources
Ron Nakao, ronbo@stanford.edu, 650-725-1062
Public Policy
Political and Economic Aspects
Matt Marostica, mmarosti@stanford.edu, 650-723-0327
Government Documents
James Jacobs, jrjacobs@stanford.edu, 650-862-9871

Q

Queer Studies
Adán Griego, griego@stanford.edu, 650-723-3150

R

Rare Books and Manuscripts
See Special Collections
Religious Studies
Wojciech Zalewski, zalewski@stanford.edu, 650-723-9274
Russian Studies
Anatol Shmelev (Hoover Institution Collections), shmelev@stanford.edu, 650-724-6200
Karen Rondestvedt (Green Library Collections), rondest@stanford.edu, 650-725-1052

S

Scandinavian Studies
Henry Lowood, lowood@stanford.edu, 650-723-4602
Slavic and East European Studies:
Anatol Shmelev (Hoover Institution Collections), shmelev@stanford.edu, 650-724-6200
Karen Rondestvedt (Green Library Collections), rondest@stanford.edu, 650-725-1052
Maciej Siekierski (Hoover Institution Collections), siekierski@stanford.edu, 650-725-6955
 
Jewish Aspects
Zachary Baker, zachary.baker@stanford.edu, 650-725-1054
Social Science Data:
Anthropology, Psychology, and Sociology
Ron Nakao, ronbo@stanford.edu, 650-725-1062
Communication
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Economics, Political Science
Ron Nakao, ronbo@stanford.edu, 650-725-1062
Education
Kathy Kerns, kkerns@stanford.edu, 650-996-0592
Government Agencies
Kris Kasianovitz (State, Local, and International), krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
James Jacobs (U.S. Federal), jrjacobs@stanford.edu, 650-862-9871
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Ron Nakao, ronbo@stanford.edu, 650-725-1062
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Ron Nakao, ronbo@stanford.edu, 650-725-1062
Sociology
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Soils
Hannah Winkler, hannah.winkler@stanford.edu, 650-724-6242
South Asian Studies
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu, 650-723-3101
Southeast Asian Studies
Qi Qiu, qqiu@stanford.edu, 650-724-7761
Sound Recordings
Jerry McBride, jerry.mcbride@stanford.edu, 650-725-1146
Special Collections
Roberto Trujillo, trujillo@stanford.edu, 650-387-6816
Antiquarian Manuscripts
John Mustain, jmustain@stanford.edu, 650-725-6964
Rare and Antiquarian Books
John Mustain, jmustain@stanford.edu, 650-725-6964
Stanford History
See University Archives
Statistics
Linda Yamamoto, linday@stanford.edu, 650-723-0864

T

Turkish Studies
John A. Eilts, john.eilts@stanford.edu, 650-736-1815

U

Ukrainian Studies
Anatol Shmelev (Hoover Institution Collections), shmelev@hoover.stanford.edu, 650-724-6200
Karen Rondestvedt (Green Library Collections), rondest@stanford.edu, 650-725-1052
United Kingdom
See British Studies
United States:
See also American Studies, Ethnic Studies, and individual group studies
Government Information
James Jacobs (Federal Documents), jrjacobs@stanford.edu, 650-862-9871
Kris Kasianovitz (State and Local Documents), krisk11@stanford.edu, 650-721-9173
Benjamin Stone (Interim), bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Social Aspects
James Jacobs, jrjacobs@stanford.edu, 650-725-1030
Political and Economic Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
University Archives
Daniel Hartwig, dhartwig@stanford.edu, 650-725-1161
Aimee Morgan, aimee.morgan@stanford.edu, 650-725-1021

W

Western Americana
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Women's Studies:
See also individual area and language studies.
Historical Aspects
Benjamin Stone, bstone@stanford.edu, 650-485-9851
Political and Economic Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848
Social Aspects
Regina Roberts, regina.roberts@stanford.edu, 650-724-0848

 

Last modified: July 11, 2012

       
© Stanford University. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints